
2K	Rules	Explanation	6	Luffing	to	head	to	wind.	
 

 
 
Blue	is	overlapped	to	leeward	of	Yellow.		
	
Blue	luffs	Yellow	head	to	wind	at	position	3.	
	
Yellow	protests	and	hails	“You’re	above	close	hauled	you	can’t	make	me	tack”.	
What	should	the	umpires	do?	
	
Display	a	Green	and	White	Flag.	
	
At	all	times	Blue	is	leeward	right	of	way	unless	she	passes	head	to	wind.	
	
When	Blue	changes	course	to	windward	she	must	give	Yellow	room	to	keep	
clear…which	she	does.	
	
At	position	3	Blue	stops	changing	course	at	which	point	Yellow	has	room	to	tack.		
	
At	position	4,	if	Yellow	is	not	keeping	clear	then	Yellow	breaks	rule	11.	
	
In	Short	
	

1. In	2K	(and	in	other	racing	when	rule	17	is	not	deleted)	there	is	no	rule	
that	prevents	a	leeward	boat	from	luffing	to	head	to	wind.	As	long	as	
when	changing	course	she	gives	the	other	boat	room.	If	the	windward	
boat	has	to	tack	to	keep	clear,	then	she	must	tack.	

	
 
	


