
2K	Rules	Explanation	5	Approaching	and	Leaving	a	mark-	Interfering	
	
Case	1	

	
	
Question:	Blue	enters	the	zone	of	the	Leeward	mark	clear	ahead	of	Yellow.	Blue	
rounds	up	to	a	proper	course	and	immediately	after	position	3	Blue	has	to	bear	
away	sharply	to	avoid	a	collision.	Blue	protests.	What	should	the	call	be?	
	
Answer:	Green	and	White	Flag.	As	drawn	Yellow	is	approaching	the	mark	and	
Blue	is	leaving	the	mark.	Therefore	Rule	18	does	not	apply	and	it	is	only	the	rules	
of	Part	2	Sections	A	and	B	that	apply.	Blue	the	right	of	way	boat	is	restricted	by	
Rule	16	and	when	changing	course	must	give	Yellow	(on	port)	room	to	keep	
clear.		By	bearing	away	Blue	has	given	Yellow	this	room	(see	Call	D3.)	
	
Case	2	
	

	
This	is	not	uncommon,	and	something	Blue	needs	to	consider	as	she	approaches	
the	leeward	mark.	Yellow	and	Blue	are	on	different	legs	and	Yellow	is	clearly	
making	life	hard	for	Blue…but	although	she	may	be	interfering	with	Blue,	Yellow	
is	sailing	her	proper	course.	If	Yellow	was	sailing	above	or	below	her	proper	



course	she	may	be	breaking	rule	23.2.	If	Yellow	is	sailing	a	proper	course	no	rule	
is	broken.	


