
2K	Rules	Explanation	4:	Windward	Leg	Dial	Down	
	
	

	
	
On	a	beat	to	windward	Blue	anticipates	that	Yellow	will	have	to	tack.	At	position	
3	as	Yellow	starts	to	point	up	Blue	bears	away	strongly	on	to	a	collision	course.	
Before	Yellow	reaches	head	to	wind	Blue	locks	her	tiller	(stops	changing	course).	
At	position	4	to	avoid	a	collision	both	boats	change	course	sharply.	There	is	a	
protest,	what	should	the	call	be?	
	
Answer:	Penalise	Yellow.	
	
In	position	1,2	and	3	Blue	is	windward	keep	clear	boat.	(Note	RRS	16.1	and	16.2	
do	not	apply	to	a	keep	clear	boat.)	
At	position	4	Blue	becomes	right	of	way	boat	as	a	result	of	Yellow’s	actions.	
Rule	15	and	16	do	not	apply	as	Blue	has	not	changed	course	and	Blue	acquired	
right	of	way	in	part	because	of	Yellow’s	actions.	
	
Yellow	breaks	rule	10	or	13.	
	
	


