
2K	Rules	Explanation	3	Interfering	with	a	boat	taking	a	Penalty	
	
Case	1	
	
Yellow	and	Blue	are	approaching	a	windward	mark	to	be	left	to	starboard.	At	
position	2	Yellow	luffs	rapidly	and	there	is	contact.	Yellow	immediately	hails	
“spinning”,	raises	an	arm	and	starts	to	bear	away	to	take	a	voluntary	penalty.	
	
Blue	immediately	bears	away	on	to	a	course	to	prevent	Yellow	from	gybing.	
	
There	is	a	protest.	
	

	
The	first	question	the	umpires	should	ask	is	“Is	Yellow	sailing	to	“get	well	clear”	
of	Blue,	or	has	she	started	to	take	her	penalty.”	
	
If	the	answer	is	that	Yellow	is	sailing	to	“get	well	clear”	then	as	Yellow	is	not	
actually	taking	a	penalty	RRS	23.2	does	not	apply	and	so	as	long	as	no	other	rule	
is	broken	the	umpires	will	signal	this	with	a	Green	and	White	Flag.	
	
If	on	the	other	hand	Yellow	has	started	to	take	her	penalty	then	the	question	is	
“is	Blue	sailing	her	proper	course”?	If	she	is	then	RRS	23.2	does	not	apply.	If	she	
is	not	sailing	a	proper	course	(and	in	this	case	it	is	hard	to	see	how	she	is)	then	
Blue	would	be	breaking	RRS	23.2.	
	
Note	in	racing	using	the	2K	penalty	system	a	boat	on	an	upwind	leg	or	before	the	
start	takes	a	voluntary	penalty	by	gybing.	This	penalty	happens	instantaneously	
when	the	boat	goes	from	port	to	starboard	tack	or	vice	versa	(see	definition	of	
tack)…so	up	to	the	moment	the	boat	actually	gybes	she	is	sailing	to	get	well	clear	
and	can	be	interfered	with!	
	
For	clarity	when	the	voluntary	penalty	is	a	tack,	a	boat	does	not	start	her	penalty	
until	she	passes	head	to	wind	and	completes	her	tack	when	she	reaches	a	close	
hauled	course,	all	on	the	same	tack.	I.e.	if	a	boat	is	sailing	to	get	well	clear	is	on	
starboard	tack	when	she	passes	head	to	wind	she	is	on	port	tack,	and	completes	
her	tack	(penalty)	when	she	is	close	hauled	on	port.		
	
		



Case	2	

	
	
In	the	Prestart	Yellow	has	been	penalised,	or	has	indicated	that	she	will	take	a	
penalty.	Blue	sails	close	astern	preventing	Yellow	from	getting	well	clear	in	order	
to	start	her	penalty	turn.	Yellow	Protests.	What	should	the	call	be?	
	
Green		and	White	Flag.	
	
Rule	23.2		is	only	about	interfering	with	a	boat	taking	a	penalty.		Yellow	is	not	
taking	a	penalty	as	she	has	not	sailed	well	clear	and	in	addition	as	this	is	before	
the	start	there	is	no	proper	course.	
	
See	Team	Race	Rapid	Response	Call	2023.001	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	


