
Explanation 2 Interfering with a boat on a different leg. 

	

	
	
	
	

Blue has rounded mark 1 and is on the leg to mark 2. Yellow has yet 
to round Mark 1. 

At position 2 Blue luffs and tacks back towards mark 1. 

Immediately after position 3 Yellow has to change course to avoid 
Blue. There is a Protest. What should the umpires do? 

	
Answer:  
	

Blue is on another leg of the course to Yellow at position 3 and 4 
because she could sail to either side of mark 1. Additionally Blue is 
not sailing a proper course.  Because Yellow has to change course to 
avoid Blue, Blue has interfered with Yellow. Penalise Blue. 

Rule 23.2 Except when sailing her proper course, a boat shall not 
interfere with a boat taking a penalty or sailing on another leg.  

It should be noted that Yellow is still required by RRS 10 to keep 
clear. 

	


