
Explanation	1	Finish	Line	“Mark	Room”	
(March	2025)	
	
The	scenario	illustrated	below	often	occurs	when	Blue	initially	sails	away	from	the	
line	to	engage	another	opponent,	then	either	gybes	back	or	bears	away	hard	to	
prevent	Yellow	from	finishing	between	Blue	and	the	RCV.	
	
	
	
Case	1	
	
Blue	enters	the	zone	of	the	Committee	Vessel	clear	ahead	of	Yellow.	
Blue	sails	high	(maybe	to	luff	an	opponent).	At	position	3	Yellow	establishes	an	
overlap	from	astern.	
	
Question	1	
	
What	are	the	limitations	(if	any)	on	Blue	when	she	gybes	on	to	port.	
	
	

	
	
Answer	1:	When	Yellow	becomes	overlapped	on	Yellow,	18.2	(a)	2	applies	and	
states:	

“When the first of two boats reaches the zone…if the boats are not 
overlapped the boat that has not reached the zone at that moment 
shall give the other boat mark-room” 

Mark-Room includes Room for a boat to sail to the mark when her 
proper course is to sail close to it. 



 

The angled lines are gybe lines. These lines show the proper course 
a boat would sail at any particular point to finish as quickly as 
possible. By gybing at position 3 Blue’s proper course is to sail the 
lower gybe line. In doing this she has left space for Yellow to finish 
inside her. 

Note: It is never a proper course for Blue to point above the port 
quarter of the committee boat. Additionally in boats sailing without 
spinnakers the proper course is generally dead down wind. 

So: If the umpires agree that Blue is not sailing within the mark 
room to which she is entitled rule 18 no longer applies and in which 
case rule 10 applies. 

And Blue will be penalised. 

 

 

Similarly if Blue bears away hard, and does not gybe, and is aiming 
above the port quarter of the CV again rule 18 no longer applies, and 
instead Blue is likely to be penalised for breaking rule 11.  

(Sorry the programme Boats can not show a keelboat sailing by the 
lee). 


